Thursday, October 28, 2010

So cool!

Omg… This is so cool! I’m using Windows Live Writer to blog this short post. I can just edit and post without logging into blogger directly.

Editting becomes so much easier leh.. I can directly preview what my post looks like as I type, instead of editting and publishing, editting and publishing… Quite irritating sometimes..

I think with this, I’ll blog more often when I have the time already since it’s so convenient. =D

 

But meanwhile…. I’m quite busy at the moment until exams.. =((

Thursday, August 19, 2010

I have officially taken up the role of VM assistant in GAW VIII.

It was considered a last minute decision, but it was definitely not a rushed or un-thought decision.

After some several explanations about my other commitments and related stuff, I would like to thank the relevant people who decide to believe in me, especially wing. I know they are just concerned if I could cope with juggling with so many commitments at one go. I really appreciate it very much. Since I have accepted the role, I will give my very best until the end. I don't like give people promises that will be broken in the end.

Regarding my commitments, I have really give a deep thought before taking any 1 of them up.

For JJFC, it is about taking up a leadership role of working with 3 lovely helpers. To me, taking up the role of a committee member is just a change in role name, nothing else. I have been doing this since more than 1 year back. I will still be doing the exact same thing as before, just with a new name of a "leader". In fact, I'm very proud of my 3 helpers, because they lighten my workload a lot. I had to do so much with just Ivalyn helping me alone, and Ivalyn was still learning during that period of time. My current task is more of overseeing & answering their doubts when they need me. I could let go & let them do what they are supposed to do. Sometimes I feel bad about being so strict with them. But I guess that is how we have got such a great team! =)

For T.H.E.S, I will be taking up the new role of secretary. Some people may think of it as a "demotion". Afterall, I was the vice-chairperson. However, I don't see it that way at all. It is just a change of in the role I am going to play. In fact, I do not even think of it as a commitment. Over the past year, T.H.E.S truly becomes my passion. Regardless if I am the vice-chairperson, secretary, or just a normal volunteer, I still belong to the big family. If they say they need me, I'll try my best to be there for them. It is not a chore, but something I want to do myself. I can give up on other commitments, but not T.H.E.S. Therefore, before I accepted the VM role in GAW, I think my only request is , as long as it doesn't clash with T.H.E.S, I will give it a serious thought.

For everything, I'm really thankful to have a boss like Jack. I guess I am really very lucky to find such a rare flexible boss who gives me the freedom to be the busy student for who I am. I can be very honest with him with my commitments as my reasons for missing work. That is one of the greatest support that I could get to go ahead with my non-academic commitments without worries. He definitely deserves a better employee than me, but he never gives up on me. For the same reason, even though many people think my job is low-paying, I still continue to stick with my job. It is not about the money, it is about the people you are working for.
I guessed falling sick for the 2nd time after school re-opens sent me on the rollercoaster of emotions.

I did my portion of Outreach duty for T.H.E.S yesterday. I was rather upset about someone's actions yesterday though. I don't even know if I have the right to be upset with him, because I knew he most probably don't mean it. For those who know who I was talking about, just keep it to yourself. For those who doesn't know, please do not ask. It is just a ranting on my personal space.

First, it was him going around telling people we both know that I made him come back to school just for this on his free day. I guessed if I wasn't feeling unwell, I wouldn't mind at all. He was most probably kidding, but I did not feel really good about it. I mean, I did joke with and suan him about other stuff during this period, like we usually do. But I guessed my sickness just made me more particular about this matter. For 1 thing, it was my free day too, and I came back despite I was already feeling unwell. I didn't mean to complain, because I did it willingly, because I wanted everything to go well. For another thing, I really didn't know it was his free day until he told me. I merely requested if he could be there because there was really nobody who was available. And it was K's free day too, which K told me, so I told him it is ok then. I really didn't know if I should feel guilty as if I forced him to come back, seriously.

The next thing is... I guessed I could not explain myself either. Someone he knew came & chatted with him, and they touched on a topic that passed quite some time back which the person didn't know. To me, I think it was a sensitive topic on my own part, so I didn't say anything. I guessed what he didn't realize is, people smile not only because they think something is funny or they wanted to gloat over something. I smiled because I just felt awkward at the point of time. I didn't think the topic was funny in any sense, like what he thought. I may be a person who jokes and laugh about things a lot, but I would not think this kind of thing is funny or what.

Oh wells...

Thursday, August 12, 2010

Falling sick...

It has been a long time since I last cried over school/work stuff.

Am I giving myself too much stress?
Am I taking up too much commitments that I should not?
Am I expecting too much of myself?


I have no idea.

Falling sick isn't according to my plans, and it just screwed up many of the things I have to do. I was really upset I could not commit to many things at the last minute just because I am sick. Even though I know nobody will blame me for showing them up last minute because I am sick, but I feel that I need to get them done myself. I want to be there, badly. I became rather pissed off with myself for falling sick. There are too many things waiting for me to do, but just as many things are not going accordingly to plans. I totally hate it.

And that, was the last straw.

I totally broke down.

I didn't expect it.

I desperately didn't want it to start that way.

Why aren't things going according to plans?

I hate it.





And then...



Someone's mere words turned my tears into laughter.

I will not state who he is. But he really made me smile.

When I saw what he wrote, I really ponder.

His words came at the right time.

They shall stay.



I will make it right. =)

Tuesday, August 10, 2010

School started today...

Guess what??

I fell sick.


It's so crazy. I swear I will never take bus 95 for convenience's sake even though my ST2334 lectures, which is my 1st lecture on Tuesdays & Fridays, are at Science. It took me 3 buses 95 before I got to board it. With the horribly aching body of mine. And the girl behind me was so inconsiderate this morning. She squeezed in the teeny space behind me while I was still moving in. As a result, she didn't even notice her bag was nudging my back all the time which I had to balance hard to stand properly in the bus.

After my 1st lecture, I went to UHC for consultation. Consultation was quick though. I wonder why doctors earn so much now. I told her my symptoms, she prescribed medicine accordingly. I think the pharmacy could have done the job? Whatever... I just hope it was not the case I'm thinking of.. Bbaahh...

There is so much things to do/commit this week! I hope I can survive with this aching body of mine. Yucks...

Tuesday, August 03, 2010

My "LONG LOST LOVE"!

My "LONG LOST LOVE"!



Haha... Ok, I mean it has been a very long time since he last came back/released a new song.. Now the guilt is settling in for 劈腿-ing just yesterday after listening to Rynn's new song on the radio. Boo...



"林宇中揪心摯愛主打【路過的新娘】生命不會白活感謝每個深愛的路過的你
答應我,你一定要幸福,我才能放心的把你忘記......
路過的新娘不會和我一起走向教堂,但我們都會努力開始下一次幸福的出發"

Saturday, July 31, 2010

嚴爵。Yen-j。

Temptation. And addiction.



嚴爵。Yen-j。


http://yenj234.pixnet.net/blog







Recently, I have fallen in love with the music of this new singer! 谢谢你的美好、我喜欢,(不我爱)… Y.E.S. 93.3 has been playing these 2 songs of his on the radio frequently, and it has been a long time since I last heard of a soothing voice like this. When I first heard of his name & the song我喜欢,(不我爱), I found both really familiar, but could not recall where I heard them before. Then, I re-watched my series of偷心大圣PS男制作特辑, which dawned on me I first see him in 1 of them! He was the guy who acted as Blue’s hands when playing the piano. And我喜欢,(不我爱) is the exact song that Blue “sang” to 白歆惠 in the party!

Can you believe he is 22 years old this year? Same as me! A thought suddenly runs across my mind. It used to idolizing singers who are older than us. Now I guess we have all reached the age where many new singers popping out are younger than us. This is especially true when it comes to kpop or jpop. Luckily, 嚴爵 is still older than me by 3 months. I was laughing at Anna, who has to call him 小弟弟! I cannot imagine idolizing someone younger than me, at least not now…

And guess what? I had this really stupid deal with Anna, agreeing that if his album costs below $20, we will both buy his album. It all begins with when we are going for our addictive fishing game again, and Anna suggested Sunday at Bugis. The date sticks to my mind as I heard from the radio that his autograph session is this exact day and location. We tempted each other to go see him, and ended up tempting each other to buy his album. So I went to Popular to check out the album’s price after work. I feel so paiseh because I walked in without knowing what the album name is. The worse thing is, I couldn’t find his album, after which I asked the staff who found the last one available for me from the shelf. I didn’t buy it anyway, because it has a crack on the casing. What a loser I am! Haha…

I know I’m heading for a no-return route man! This is how I got started with chasing Rynn too! I hope the same thing will not happen! Aahh… This sounds bad to me already. Haha… I’m totally mesmerized by guys who can sing & play the piano well. They are really talented! 而且会弹琴的男生是帅的咯。。。

So much for saving up! Buying album & fishing! There goes my “retirement” savings plan which I am supposed to heed advice for…

Friday, July 30, 2010

INSIGNIFICANT HUMAN BEING

I must be the most forgotten person in the month of July.

Margaret forgot about me during C.A.N. Collect.

Jack forgot about me during work 2 days before my birthday.

Alicia overslept at the time she was supposed to meet me last Sunday.

Project C.A.N. missed out our names for C.A.N. Distribute.

Hence... For the 1st time, I'm really an...

INSIGNIFICANT HUMAN BEING



I hope I didn't forget other people who forget about me. =D

Wednesday, July 28, 2010

Random stuff

Finally there is something that Jack does not sound so convincing about - He was once an NUS Computing student(for a semester or so).

He kept us laughing away for the multiple attempts he tried so hard to make us believe he had really been schooling in NUS before. Seriously... We ended up having a little "bet" that if I really cannot find his name, he will treat us. I honestly have much confidence I'll get my free "lunch". 谁说世界上没有免费的午餐??

Matric fair this year is more about... packing up.. No kidding, I was assigned the last slot on duty. By the time I got there, there wasn't much people, or much to do. We were the first to start packing, and 1 of the last to finish packing.

CORS bidding was nothing to worry about. 1000 points for each module. So I've got my IS3102, IS3223, and ST2334. So I guess I have to wait for my SS module to bid for. Timetable looks really slack, but I think IS3102 is going to be a killer. 1st lecture is on 5 august?? That is crazy enough to start with.. I sound really slack! I just realized I'm not taking any level 4 module this semester! Madness! Argh! Thanks to SOC for making IS3223 from a level 4 module to level 3 module. There goes my UE modular credits. I need to fulfill my number of level 4 modules. Help!

Saturday, July 24, 2010

Reflections on the 21st year of my life as I turn 22.

Reflections on the 21st year of my life as I turn 22.

I have learnt a very important thing in life throughout this significant year. Contentment is happiness. Life is always unfair, but how we look at things in life affects the way we are. I feel that I think much positively than I did in the past.

In fact, I feel blessed.

Throughout this year, I think I am very fortunate to have met/known these people. I am really thankful that they appear in my life. I don’t express myself well in person, but I’m really appreciative deep in my heart.

Jack. Time really flies. I have been working for him for a year. The longest job I have been holding on to. I forgot when I exactly started, but I remembered it was just a week before my birthday. Seriously, I always wonder how he can stand a slack employee like me. Ok, not exactly. It is just that I’m not performing well at all with the kind of job I’m doing. He is really a nice guy! I always love to say I am the “boss” who gets to choose whenever I want to work. I know I always take advantage of his flexibility, but I am really thankful for it and how he can fully understand from a student’s point of view. I remembered once I told him I could not make it last minute because of CCA stuff. He actually told me it was ok as school work is more important. I was really touched; especially that was how I was kind of dismissed from my previous job in school. I think the times he said no to me were when he said “No problem.” Just recently, he was really nice to spend his precious time to provide free advice for 1 of my close friends, and went an extra mile to do her a favor, everything done without asking anything in return at all. From him, I learnt how to differentiate between persistent and convincing. Not all financial consultants are irritating and persistent. He is one good example. I may not be the best employee he deserves to get, but he is definitely the most wonderful boss I have met so far.

Margaret. I must be the luckiest vice chairperson on earth to be able to work with her. Being the chairperson, she respects my opinions for many decisions that we have to make together. Unlike some leaders who like to draw a clear line in between, she does not give me the feeling that I lead THES under her, but I lead THES with her. I always find the chemistry between us amazing. She is a chairperson who is really blur, forgetful and makes mistakes like anyone else, I am exactly not the world’s most patient vice chairperson who can stand the silly mistakes she makes like the rest, but I can never get angry with her. These few flaws of hers are what I make up for, and things I dislike doing is what she makes up for. I always like to say she is made out to do the big and important things in THES while I am made out to do small things and pay attention to teeny details. Accommodating and understanding is really important. Despite her flaws, she makes up for them with her responsibility and selflessness. When it comes to rewards, “we” is what she says. When it comes to mistakes, “I” is what she declares. The reason I can never get angry with her is because I know this is her. There isn’t a need to change her flaws, because she has more than enough good points to make up for them. I really learnt a lot from her. From T.H.E.S to CSC Day, I really enjoy working with such a capable leader who is rare to find.

T.H.E.S. I really feel fortunate to have so many excellent volunteers during this academic year that I am running as the vice chairperson. I remembered the previous year when I was a freshie, volunteers started disappearing slowly. Even the chairperson went MIA, and so was most of the committee towards the end. And I used to skip several visits because I did not really feel a sense of belonging to it. Now, it is rare to see less than 10 volunteers each visit. A few volunteers told me before that Margaret & I have been doing a great job leading it. However, I differ to agree totally. I just feel that we are lucky enough to have such dedicated volunteers to make our jobs done easier. Without their self-willingness to stay on, we are helpless on our own. We have a great committee of 8 who are there most of the time, lightening our workload of administrative stuff. The rest of the volunteers are just as fun-loving and passionate towards helping the elderly. Now that it is almost time to step down from my role, I have much confidence about the two new leaders who are going to take over. It is really difficult to decide who to choose because everyone is really great. I wish them good luck in continuing to lead T.H.E.S. with more passionate freshies to come in the next academic year. Of course, I will still be there for them as an advisor whenever they need as this is the place I belong. =)

Janice, Joey. I can’t decide whether to write about them together with the two below because I know them at the same time. After some thought, I guess I shall write them in pairs. These two are the new addition to the Website team helpers. It is really great to have both of them around! I am great that the Website team is no longer Ivalyn & I alone anymore. With their help, they really lighten our workload a lot. I am really glad that both of them agree to help out and make Website team a more cheerful place to be in than before. I always believe a team in working towards the same objective is the place where team spirit truly exists and keep arguments to the minimal. None of us have selfish thoughts about having to gain benefits by being in the Website team, unlike how some people do. I am happy to know that I am not wrong about taking both of them in to help me. We will continue to strive in working towards the common goal we share to make Website team a wonderful one! One thing I never get to figure out is, did JJ just happen to have more media exposure in the recent year? Or did Janice make something to happen that Website team is overwhelming with more workload than we can handle before that? Haha…

Julie, Edelyn. The 2 wonderful teachers-to-be! Though I do not know them for very long, but they are really great friends one can have. I have no idea what to write about them, but I just know I am lucky to have them as my friends. Sometimes, it is not how much you can praise about your friends, but how the comfortable feeling is always there whenever we hang out. They are selfless when it comes to JJ matters, unlike some JJ fans I have met so far.

Wing. The machoboy whom I know through E6. I am really glad to know she will be there most of the time whenever I need her. Although we do not really meet up after the camp, but I can tell her almost anything online. Initially, I thought she might change after bidding farewell to singlehood like many friends who I know do. I was wrong. She remains the same as who she is. I really love her as a close friend, someone who I can share my secrets with safely. Thanks for being there for me!

Saturday, July 10, 2010

Birthday Wish: Purple PowerShot SX210 IS.

MY BIRTHDAY WISH!




I have been looking at cameras whenever I flipped newspaper at work to find a camera with functions that I really wish for yet affordable. Some are really tempting with the prices & specifications. I wanted something along the line of more zooms than my current camera, but does not need to be that professional, because I most probably don't know how to use those functions anyway.

When I met up with Anna for dinner last night, I saw this babe & immediately fall in love with it! I saw the pink-that-look-a-lil-like-purple version(as shown in the 2nd pic) & held it, it is light-weighted. It fits my requirements! And when I reached home to search for more information, I saw the actual purple one! SO CHIO! Totally irresistable!

However, I feel sinful! It is not that I can't afford it because I'm earning enough to pay for it this month anyway. But! I already have a usable camera! And I feel like I'm splurging my money away just because I'm richer this 2 months. My devil voice keeps telling me to buy it. On the contrary, my angel voice tells me not to spend so much on this "want" unnecessarily.

I think it's my most wonderful boss's influence! His lesson gets stuck in my mind so well about saving that is making me guilty! Argh! Now I wonder if that is a good or bad influence!


So so!!! I'm getting my lovely friends to pool in my Birthday Wish Fund so I will not feel guilty to buy it! Hahaha... I've already got around 5 people who wants to sponsor me for it! All of them think they rather fund me to get something that I really want instead of buying something that they are unsure of.

Who else wishes to fund me?? Please contact me! Hahaha!!!

Thursday, July 08, 2010

Spain won! What's next?

Spain won.

What’s next?

As Paul correctly predicted the match results, I am as accurate as him too. Haha…

No, I didn’t predict the match result, I predict a person’s behavior. When I received the sms, my mind just went, “There! I told you! I knew it!” It was damn hilarious! For those who know what I am talking about, Shh… Hahaha!!!



Anyway, I had the nicest nap ever these 2 afternoons. Wee~~

I don’t like my morning work at all. I’m very certain. Everything is spoiled by a certain person. There is bound to be something nonsense coming up every single day.

Yesterday was an exception. It was a really wonderful day. Totally peaceful! And it was because she was not around. I swear the office was really quiet without her. I got my job done without any interference. In fact, I completed all my tasks within 2 hours, and had 2 hours to spare. I was in a good mood for sure. How I wish every day would be the same, working in peace.

But then, it was back to the usual this morning. Once I stepped into the office, I heard her voice. I really wonder how someone can talk so much early in the morning! Doesn’t she get tired? I get tired listening to her voice constantly. Oh, she didn’t finish my work for me today. Surprised? No, there was a catch to it. How irresponsible of her despite being so nosy. Whatever! There was nothing to be scared of. I wonder why she is afraid to put her name down. And I saw how selfish she was. What is the purpose of keeping all those so-called “nicer” magazine when other people need it? The new ones are coming in sooner or later! I think she wants to bring them to her coffin man. What a joke!

Anyway, my Firefox keep hanging my laptop last night. In the end, I had to re-install it again. Now I made it nicer. It keeps me addicted to going to the internet! Haha…


Saturday, July 03, 2010

I survived that horribly exhausting week! Towards the end, I totally looked forward to going back to work in Newton!

Moreover, it was quite terrible because I kept making silly mistakes that are so brainless at the end of the whole gown collection. I was totally sleep-deprived like mad! So much that I needed, it took me the courage to ask for another afternoon off from my world’s nicest boss to replenish the sleep I required! Of course, as the world’s most brilliant boss you can ever have, my wish was granted! I was glad I asked for it, because I was totally refreshed after that. Can you imagine I overslept twice that day?? Once on the west-bound train to Jurong East when going to work in the morning, and another on the east-bound train to Pasir Ris when going back home to catch my nap.

Anyway, gown collection was nevertheless fun like last year! The only difference was, I did a lot of packing this year instead of attending alumni. Packing was a really awesome brainless job for me! By the time I ended my morning shift in e office, my brain would be half-dead. I could keep my hands moving non-stop, but my brain practically felt exhausted. Luckily, nobody complained I was doing the “easier” job. I guess which job scope is easier is totally subjective. I wonder if any other student helpers there preferred to do serving alumni or packing. I prefer the latter, of course. I hope they didn’t mind at all. Oops! And I think I love gown collection because of the working environment. Perhaps the workers there are mostly students, and we had no stress over unnecessary issues.

Of course, it would really bad to work long-term, from waking up at 6.30am, and getting back home at around 10.30pm. Dinner became supper, or I don’t know what. I will prefer my bread-on-the-go-for-lunch + long-bus-rides-to-work-and-back-home work schedule anytime! At least I got to catch a wink on the long bus rides.

I asked a question on Twitter previously. The question is, would one prefer to working in a place where you like your job scope but not the people there? Or you prefer the people there but not the job scope? Now I have got a definite answer. I prefer the latter.

I really cannot stand it & got quite pissed off on certain days last week. There are certain things I don’t really mind, like being nagged at. You’ll be quite surprised that I’m really patient over naggy people. What I really cannot stand is people doing my part of work for me (which are obviously easier?) & asked me to do their work for them! And that is not everything! It is fine to ask me do the manual work of unpacking for her. The last straw was rearranging everything I unpacked all over again! What is the point of asking me to help then? Moreover, I did the right things by following the instructions she gave me to arrange where things should be. It totally makes me feel stupid as if I can’t get anything right at work. I swear I am working fine.

And obviously, I really feel irritated to have my job done for me. You may think I should be happy that I do not have to do it myself. But think again, I’m totally not thankful for that. Since that job scope involves me forwarding emails to the relevant people, she is not being helpful at all. I am not stupid or ignorant. She was on leave when that SC CC boo-boo incident happened, so she did not know the complete actions that were taken. I was already informed informally to forward emails related to that incident to higher ranked personnel instead of the usual personnel. However, thanks to her “kindness” of doing my work for me, she forwarded that email to the usual personnel, and 自作主张 to our manager. Not knowing I was not the one who stupidly forwarded the email to the wrong person, our manager replied back addressing me to forward to that higher ranked personnel in future. I am not angry with my manager, because she also thought I was the only one handling the account.

The best thing is, she didn’t even tell me that there have been emails addressed to me, and continued doing the follow-up procedures on my behalf for some. I only found out when I was doing the monthly report because the emails are being categorized already. That was only discovered partially. I discovered the other half when I was doing 1 of the remaining follow-up procedures she did not manage to reach. When I read it, I was totally clueless what was going on. I had to spend a longer time to go through which authorities that email had gone to & where it originated from. Isn’t it more troublesome for me?

Of course there are some other things I’m unhappy about with her. But I shall not elaborate. I hope she will not pester me this coming week.

In contrast, I find my other working place a pleasure even though I do not really like the job scope. The people there are cheerful and friendly. Perhaps it is in the “genes” of their industry, I don’t know. But they don’t 明争暗斗 at all. They just have frequent open friendly competitions over their work results, and both winners and losers are really gracious no matter how the outcome turns out to be. You can feel the genuine feeling they give you. Not fake at all.

Monday, June 28, 2010

Monday, June 21, 2010

Tired!

I AM EXHAUSTED!

I know that I would have an extremely hectic week ahead, and Monday would most probably be the slackest. But I guess I’m wrong! Haha…

Due to the SC CC boo-boo incident, we had ourselves busy like crazy today. Folding the letters, franking the envelopes, slotting into and sealing the envelope. You may think it’s so easy. But imagine doing it manually for 4 thousands of them! I think they will be more tomorrow. MADNESS! Okay, I should not complain too much, because I volunteered to help M. on my own accord after finishing my work. Haha…

Seriously, who expects a simple complaint to the ST Forum would lead to becoming a havoc case, resulting in us fussing over the matter. Many people in other forums were giving this person who created the problem for us bad comments & think he made a big fuss out of nothing. A few of the management became stressed as they have to be held responsible & follow up on the matter after the letters are sent out.

Oh well, I hope similar things will not happen in the other department, because I know it was a terrible experience. Imagine someone else had to repeat it all over again. I know the torture!

Sunday, June 20, 2010

Smiles

If you asked me whether I’m disappointed once again, I frankly have to say I’m not really affected by it. If I am, in any way, affected, I think the only thing is that I disappointed Wing with such a result.

I believe that when one door closes to my chance, another door for hope will be open for me somewhere. It is just that I have not found the key to open it yet. =D

I suppose I take it as a hint that I am not ready to take up a new commitment together with the coming 8-MC module I need to take. Even though I’m not greedy, but I really hope to hit at least third lower honours when I graduate in 3 semesters’ time. I know it might be a lil tad tough, but I want to believe I can do it.

I hope I’m not being too optismistic! I am satisfied with what I have in life right now! Anything more will be too much to ask for, seriously! Smile! =D

A great week!

This week has been great for me! =D

Things have been going smoothly as I prayed for them to be & many good incidents happened on the way that I have never expected at all. I am a happy girl!

That day in J’s office together with F. All I can say is, it was a wonderful learning point for me. I think I learnt so much after stepping out of his office that day. Brilliant! I seriously suspect J can read my mind, and does it really well. He knew my doubts inside out without having me to say anything. Oh gosh! I never knew he observed so much, because he didn’t say anything much usually. They weren’t bad comments though. It shows that he is an easygoing man. Furthermore, he was not pushy at all & I was given a choice to consider. I knew my decision was not the answer he wanted, but he was totally cool about it & respected my decision. Totally different from M who was quite persistent.

Oh yes! I won a pair of tickets to Marina Bay Sands opening concert from YES 93.3! JJ will be there to perform! Somehow, it was kind of fated for me. I only began to listen to YES 93.3 in the morning again the week before because I needed peace at work. When I turned on the radio on Monday, the first thing I heard was JJ’s name being read out in the middle of a song. As I wasn’t working in the afternoon that day, as usual, I went home to search YES 93.3 website to check if there is information about the timeslot(s) that is/are giving out tickets as well besides the morning show. I was lucky to find out that they were giving out a pair of tickets each to the 1st 5 listeners who mailed in our particulars to its email. And yes, so I was the 1st 5. =D I wanted so much to ask Ms Ivalyn along! She has been saying she wanted to date me out for nuts! But sadly, she wasn’t able to make it. In the end, I asked Ms Carol along who finally gave me a positive answer on her approved leave on Friday. Yay! We’re going to see JJ!

And to those unreasonable people, I hope you will stop being jealous about me or others winning the tickets. I do not see why I should share details about how to win the tickets when I don’t even know you. Moreover, we won them in our own rightful ways. Neither do I expect you to tell me how to win some other tickets if you do not know me. Like hello, there is no free lunch in the world. If you do not put in efforts to find them yourselves, then don’t blame others. The world is unfair, mind you!

I believe things get better when you believe they will get better by the day. It happens to me! =D

Saturday, June 19, 2010

I love THES! =D

Learnt something new from the new volunteer today. =D

In fact, I feel that today’s visit was great & slightly different despite the “low” volunteer count. I was with the canto group, and it was a new experience for the new volunteer and his girlfriend for once. I could see that they enjoyed the dialect crash course we had with the 2 elderly we visited even though they feared for the idea of joining a dialect group they didn’t know how to speak. We had fun. And perhaps stoning when we didn’t understand some portions. Haha…

Mdm Chua was happy to see us! I was sure she was looking forward to us helping her “frame” up her certificate that she got from work during her past employment. She was so proud of it. Luckily I didn’t disappoint her. I totally forgot about it until last night when it was too late to buy a clear plastic folder. Now I really think neighbourhoods are great because they have everything! After some persuasion, she convinced us to let her treat us to drinks at the nearby coffeeshop. It was a new setting to be experienced, talking over drinks and coffee. I like the idea, but not too often I guess! Haha… However, she kept nagging to treat us to lunch which we refused totally. Even though food are cheap in that area, but we were there for volunteer work after all, so it wasn’t nice to let our elderly treat us.

After the visit, most of us went for lunch together. It was great to hang out together for interaction over lunch, a time to cherish with all volunteers. C.H. gave us a shock when we asked for bill. We were joking about asking him to treat, like always, and he had really paid in advance! In the end, B.Y. chased him for some distance trying to pay him back, but he refused. Thanks! We already had ideas what we’re going to do with the money pooled! Haha…

Anyway, yes, today’s volunteer count was considered low as compared to the usual number. This year. I am not complaining. I would just like to say, I really appreciate every single volunteer, even if they appeared for only once. I have never taken for granted the statistics of our volunteer count each visit. In fact, I feel much fortunate and blessed for everything to go smoothly in my year of running as the vice. As compared to the previous year when I was a freshie, we really had much more volunteers this year. If we really have to look back, I totally have to appreciate any number of volunteers we have today, be it today or the past few weeks. Of course, I still hope our volunteers would stay on in the next academic year to give support for the new batch of committee as well. No, we have not chosen. Haha… The time will soon come.

If anyone has the heart to continue, they will stay on. I always believe there is no point in making volunteers to stay if they cannot commit themselves to it. What matters most is the passion that lives in us.

Tuesday, June 15, 2010

Disgrace in Singaporeans

An incident that I saw on the bus on my way home today.

It is seriously a disgrace to Singaporeans!

Even though many of us may hate China people to be here in Singapore for various reasons, but I feel that we should be reasonable about it. Some China students I see in my course are really selfish, but I always know not to streotype all of them because there are nice ones out there. It really sucks to see Singaporeans openly criticize China people with such dismay.

The incident happened during peak hours when the bus was really crowded. When I turn around for more space, the action began with Singaporean & China sitting down side by side. Singaporean told China not to lean on him with a pissed off face. With a puzzled look, China tried to explain that it was a bus, but he was cut off by Singaporean rudely. I knew what China was going to say, but he never had the chance. Everyone knows it is unavoidable to knock or "lean" on the person next to you when the bus is moving. Therefore, I felt that China was reasonable. But Singaporean wasn't very happy as he felt that sitting in a bus is not an excuse to lean on him & asked China to look at the rest of us standing. I was right in front of them, keeping quiet. Singaporean continued scolding in a raised voice. Then China could not take it & asked what was his problem. And this was raised back by Singaporean. China really could not stand him & stood up, yet he made a wrong move. He mumbled a loud "Stupid ass". Seriously, if it was me, I would curse under my breath for such unreasonable treatment too, so I don't blame him at all. All Singaporean did was, "You're in my country now! If you're not happy! Get back to your country!"

Don't you think it was a disgrace to Singaporeans? Country should not be our excuse! How patriotic can you be when you insult others blatantly? I love Singapore, but I have to admit we don't have the most beautiful country in the world. We have to thank this kind of rude Singaporeans to show others the ugly side of us. Intolerable.

Monday, June 07, 2010

I went PAH yesterday with T.H.E.S people! It's Putty-a-Home for me! Haha...

Okay, why do I say that? I barely did painting for the whole day!

My group consisted of T.H.E.S peeps & 3 other NUS people. We were supposed to paint this small-area with 2 doors near the main entrance, and the staircase area behind 1 of the doors. Before painting, we laid out newspaper on the floor and wrapped everything that was not to be painted with masking tape and newspaper. As the area outside was quite small for all of us, some of us decided to start with the staircase area. So I was 1 of them who went under the staircase to start work. We had to scrape off any peeling old paint before we can start filling any cracks with wall putty. Pei Jie happily scraped off the whole big piece of wall right under the stairs because a big area was peeling off. Then our group leader told us that we did not have to scrape off those we really could not scrape off, because we had to putty the whole wall as cement cannot be painted over! So in the end, instead of filling cracks, we puttied the whole piece of wall there! If you think wall putty-ing is easy, think again... I spent almost the whole day just putty-ing that wall, waiting for it to dry, filling up cracks that were not puttied the first round, re-putty-ing areas which the wall putty would not stay. In addition, there was this small area where a thick slab of cement + paint fell off, so we had to putty up the big hole! There were a lot of people taking turns to putty, but I was the one who stayed there most of the time. There was a point of time I went to paint, but I realized I CMI with height! It was more tiring painting with rollers attached to poles at high area than puttying the wall. Therefore, I gave up! Haha...

Interaction time was bad! We were supposed to play treasure hunt with the elderly so we would get the chance to interact with them. But the process was so confusing & I didn't enjoy it at all. I guess they overlooked the fact that the beneficiaries are elderly and some elderly were more reluctant to move, so it would take a longer time for us to invite them to participate in the games. To think they actually conducted a game that required speed. Imagine we had to play it in groups somemore! The elderly I interacted with kept asking me where we are going when we were trying to gather them in a group, and yet I could not give her an exact answer at all! By the time our group was formed, another group had already won! But we hadn't got started!!! Oh well...

Anyway, I nearly died of embarrassment during cleaning up. Boon Peng and I was clearing and unwrapping the newspaper. Someone was so smart to "masking taped" the CCTV cables! And it was really nicely wrapped! But the poor me who had to do the unwrapping had the most "enjoyable" time doing it! It was so difficult to remove the masking tapes as they were all stuck in a tangle that Boon Peng helped me borrow a pair of scissors to cut off some parts of the tapes. I felt like dismantling a bomb all the time! There were 2 cables connected to the CCTV which led to 1 socket point, so that person twined the 2 cables together. I was like tugging gently and cutting with care just in case I tugged off or cut off the cables by sheer force! After struggling with it for some time, even the home management people came out of the office! From what the guy who came out to look said to the lady still in the office, I guessed they were thinking who was messing with the CCTV because the CCTV tilted to different angles every few seconds while I was trying my best to remove the masking tape.

Nevertheless, the experience was great even though it was super tiring. I only felt the soreness at my back after the whole programme. Luckily, I got home in less than 10 minutes! Haha...

Saturday, June 05, 2010

I wonder if I should set some goals/expectations for myself. If I do, I will have a target for myself to aim to achieve. If I don't, I feel like a slacker with nothing to expect in life. I do wish I have some goals/expectation for myself so I have a right direction to follow. But yet, I'm somehow afraid.

For quite some time already, whenever I aim to achieve something I want, undesired results happen and I will feel totally disappointed. These expectations are not unattainable and reasonable to be set for. Furthermore, I worked hard for them. However, result are always unexpected in the end. It makes me wonder why things turn in the wrong way. Whereas, whenever I let things be as they are and stop expecting some similar result to happen, the results are unexpected too, just that they're in the good way. When I totally do not expect something at all, I get pleasant surprises all the time. Does it mean I should live my life as it is and stop setting goals/expectations for myself? But I always thought humans should plan goals/expectations ahead in life? I'm confused. What does satisfaction come with exactly?

Thursday, June 03, 2010

I felt so much better after telling him everything that day. I've told some people before. Some understood, but I just felt they weren't the right people who I really want to tell. Nevertheless, I still have to thank them for listening to me. But finally, I told him. Someone who I think I should tell. And I was right. He is the person who understands why I dread hearing some things, and why I made some selfish decisions for myself. His reply and consolation was the answer that I was looking for all this while. Now I feel totally relieved.

I guess I finally get to see a few people's true colours over time. Hurting others just because they want to present their best to others. I was so wrong for so long. What is a close friend? Someone who claims to be yours? I cannot imagine I took so long to realize. Her so-called close friends... I realized she has so many close friends. So many she doesn't want to lose any. But she lost me eventually. I guess I cannot stand that she has to decide between 2 "close" friends, and giving in to the other friend who was in the wrong, just for the sake of her own benefits. I was so silly to confide in her, and another one whom I totally thought I could trust. But I was wrong. But luckily, it is over too. I just want to say, humans can lie, but pictures will never lie. They will tell the truth one fine day to expose humans' lies.

Some other things, I really don't want to dig further into the truth anymore. It doesn't matter to me if they want to continue about those nonsense. Somehow, I think those undesirable circumstances then made my life easier now. I appreciate the freedom I get to enjoy during this holidays, and the time I get to spend with people whom I really miss hanging out with.

Monday, May 24, 2010

成长的定义是什么?

成熟的定义是什么?



以前我认为言承旭不过仅仅是帅罢了。。 但是,现在再从新看到他的另一面,他应该还是属于感性和温馨的大男孩。。帅不帅真的不重要,对待他人那颗善良的心才是。。 再一次的崇拜他,已经不是他的帅,而是他真情流露又含蓄的那一面。。不后悔买他的写真书,文字写得细腻,发人省思。。不管背后的故事、人物是否是假,如果确确实实是真的,他的努力都看见了。。

最新一期的i周刊封面人物就是言承旭。。 随意翻开的第一页,恰好是一篇访问记者写关于粉丝的内容。。 最喜欢这一句:“粉丝,遇过疯狂类型的很多,但理性、体贴且为偶像着想的,稀有。”

Friday, May 21, 2010

I love THES! =D

I swear I'm not putting my hopes high again this time. I always get disappointed in the end. I guess I shall let nature takes its course. Too much ugly sides being exposed. Bah..

Then again, it's only May. Coming to an end soon. Yet I think I'm thinking and planning a lot. So much taken into consideration for next semester already. Woah... Is it going to be ultra heavy semester? I totally have no idea what I want! I seriously need to have a goal somewhere. Hmm...

I wonder if I'm looking forward to stepping down soon from THES. THES is a place I love a lot & has allowed me to prove to myself my extreme capabilities. Sometimes I wonder if I have done a great job or a lousy job as the vice. Regardless of being good or bad, I guess I can say I have done my part most of the time dutifully. Although I may complain a lot sometimes, I guess I have no regrets taking up the position. I have learnt a lot from the role. I didn't believe I can handle both my THES role and JJFC website team role simultaneously before. Sometimes, I would give myself stress in trying to balance both roles and not neglect any one of them. All this while, the contradicting thoughts of "I can cope" and "I can't cope" have been flying in my mind in random situations. But I'm glad all these happen in a flash in the good way. 2 academic semesters has passed. Perhaps 2 or 3 more months, I am stepping down. Taking up the role has made me more committed to THES and closer to the volunteers. Compared to my performance in Year 1, I think this is a year where I really have the passion to commit. It is a joy, not a chore. Thanks for the people who believe and trust that I can do it. I have made it.

As for the website team role, I guess it will be a longer-term commitment! Thank you Janice & Joey Tan for agreeing to help out! Both of you have lighten our workload so much! Of course, stop saying I don't need you anymore, Ivalyn Lye Jun Yi! Your main task is to keep me entertained! Haha...

Wednesday, May 19, 2010

I have a nice manager! =D

It's random pay day again!! =D

Why do I say random? Because my manager loves to give me my pay whenever he likes it/remembers. To be honest, I quite like it. He is not the type who will drag your salary until he has no choice or excuse but to pay you when I say whenever he likes it/remembers. He is the kind who will ask me how many hours I have accumulated after 2 or 3 weeks. If it is 1 month or more, it must be me, because I often skip work due to all kinds of reasons. Haha...

I have to say, I really have a nice manager who respects and trusts me a lot. I do not have a timesheet, and nobody keeps track of the number of hours I've worked thus far, including him. It is all based on my part of honesty and integrity. He totally understand the fact that I am a student, thus my super duper flexible working hours. I think I exploit his kindness on this part sometimes by being absent from work for various reasons like CCA & stuff like that. Oops!

On the contrary, I always like to repeat my previous manager sucks. And I'm going back there to work morning part-time since my current job is afternoon part-time shift. Of course, I'm not working for him this time round. He better not provoke me when I return next Monday, because I can't promise I won't be rude to his hypocrisy. Everyone who works with him before never had good comments about him before.

Friday, May 14, 2010

On msn last night...
(I didn't type in CAPS, but it's 1 of my blog settings that makes my font CAPS.)


insignificant human being - 満足は幸福である



my blog is 5 years old!


insignificant human being - 満足は幸福である



and so I got it a new blog song as present


ivalyn



hahaha whats the link!


ivalyn



eh got help your blog sing birthday song or not


insignificant human being - 満足は幸福である



I did, in my dreams


insignificant human being - 満足は幸福である



what's e link?


insignificant human being - 満足は幸福である



birthday present la!


ivalyn



the link of your new blog lah!


insignificant human being - 満足は幸福である



wad new blog?


insignificant human being - 満足は幸福である



I got a new blog SONG, not new BLOG


ivalyn



OH


ivalyn



alamak!


ivalyn



i missed out the song!


ivalyn



hahahaha


insignificant human being - 満足は幸福である



why would I get a new blog as a birthday present for my blog in e 1st place?


ivalyn



HHAHAHA


insignificant human being - 満足は幸福である



tt's not... un-devoted to my blog!


ivalyn



how i know you!


insignificant human being - 満足は幸福である



it's u lor!


ivalyn



what! i so devoted can!


insignificant human being - 満足は幸福である



where?


insignificant human being - 満足は幸福である



when?


insignificant human being - 満足は幸福である



I bet u'll get a new bf when ur bf's b'day comes, as his b'day present


ivalyn



WTH!


ivalyn



hahaha


insignificant human being - 満足は幸福である



it's u lor


insignificant human being - 満足は幸福である



I told u


ivalyn



eh i never okay!


insignificant human being - 満足は幸福である



HAVEN


ivalyn



OI!


insignificant human being - 満足は幸福である



oh, what's e address of ur new bf?


ivalyn



huh?!


insignificant human being - 満足は幸福である



does it sounds familiar?


insignificant human being - 満足は幸福である



what's e link?


ivalyn



HAHAHAHAHA


ivalyn



OMGGG


ivalyn



crapzzz


ivalyn



you damn funny


insignificant human being - 満足は幸福である



omg... I think I rock


ivalyn



haha for once, i think so too


insignificant human being - 満足は幸福である



I always do


ivalyn



whatever mann


insignificant human being - 満足は幸福である



lalalala~~`



I deleted whatever I've typed out in the morning. Oh well.. I don't know..
If I get to choose again, I'll most probably not pick NUS again. Anyway, NUS was initially my last choice out of the 3 successful applications to local universities. Under some circumstances & considerations, I chose NUS in the end. It must be 1 of the lousiest decisions I have ever made in my life. Though I still manage to cope with a pathetic CAP/5.0 that is even lower than my GPA/4.0 in SP, I still think it sucks. Oh wells...

Where did my wonderful polytechnic life go? Friendly people, interesting lecturers, nice food in foodcourt, Daidee/Bridge during breaks, etc, etc...