I watched JJ’s episode of 小燕之夜 last night, then I have some thoughts that ran through my mind.
Never knew that JJ’s brother is such a smart person & also a high flyer at the age of 32. Wow… No wonder he has been JJ’s role model since young. Trying so hard to catch up in every aspect as the younger one must be such a stressful thing to do. Especially when the brother is not average smart, but very smart.
That is not the main point anyway… I wonder if anyone thinks like me. What if JJ was as smart as his brother? His brother had most probably went to RI, and gone on to RJC, since JJ mentioned he went to the best school in Singapore. I have a lot of friends who follow the exact same route as their siblings, 1 by 1. In fact, I used to have a friend who was so stressed because her PSLE could not get her to RGS, which she could only manage to get in through her CCA. So I was thinking, as much as JJ tried to follow his brother’s footsteps, he could not get into RI, and subsequently RJC, that must be very stressful. But think again, if he was really smart enough to even scrape through to get into RJC instead of SAJC, he would most probably not become who he is today. Afterall, SAJC is part of where he discovered his interest in singing, his 1st opportunity to perform in public, etc… RJC might provided such chances for him, but most probably lesser than SAJC. And if he even graduated from RJC, he had probably placed more emphasis on his studies, because there would certainly be peer pressure to go on to pursue university education. I can’t say I totally understand the culture of Singapore JCs, but at least that is what I presume from observing my friends’ culture who went to different JCs.
That’s it. JJ is not the smartest lot that we have (still smart of course). But definitely, he has got great talent in his own ways, most importantly very successful in his career now. And we have our very own distinctive JJ Lin, our Singapore pride! =D
No comments:
Post a Comment